Skip to content

Curve-Fit Graph

The Curve-Fit Graph is the central point in the TableCurve 2D Review.

The curve-fit will be displayed in a TableCurve 2D Graph that plots the X-Y data along with the fitted equation, and optionally with confidence and/or prediction intervals, error bars, and fit references. The graph can be scaled and formatted, a variety of file output options are available, the graph can be printed, residuals, derivatives and cumulative areas of the fit equation can be displayed in a Y2 axis, and a full numeric evaluation can be made of the selected equation.

The Curve-Fit graph is also the control point for toggling on and off the the Equation List, the Residuals Graph, the Numeric Summary, the Data Summary, the Precision Summary, and the Evaluation. The Curve-Fit graph cannot be closed during the course of the Review. You can move and size this window as you wish, although you cannot hide the menu or control buttons. The position and size of the Curve-Fit graph are saved across sessions.

Toggling Other Windows On and Off

Generate/8836.gif The Eqn. List button is used to toggle the Equation List window.

Generate/8833.gif The Resid. button is used to toggle the Residuals Graph window.

Generate/8831.gif The Numeric button is used to toggle the Numeric Summary window.

Generate/8832.gif The Data button is used to toggle the Data Summary window.

Generate/8835.gif The Prec. button is used to toggle the Precision Summary window.

Generate/8834.gif The Eval. button is used to toggle the Evaluation window.

Generate/8920.gif Generate/89571.gif Generate/8949.gif Generate/89431.gif Generate/8955.gif Generate/8958.gif Note that these buttons are smaller if the video resolution is 800x600.

Automatically Tiling Windows

Generate/8931.gif The Curve-Fit Graph and Equation List are automatically opened and positioned.

Generate/8932.gif The Curve-Fit Graph, Equation List, and Numeric Summary are automatically opened and positioned.

Generate/8937.gif The Curve-Fit Graph, Equation List, and Data Summary are automatically opened and positioned.

Generate/8933.gif The Curve-Fit Graph, Equation List, Numeric Summary, and Residuals are automatically opened and positioned.

Generate/8928.gif The Curve-Fit Graph, Equation List, Numeric Summary, and Evaluation are automatically opened and positioned.

Generate/8929.gif The Curve-Fit Graph, Equation List, Residuals, and Evaluation are automatically opened and positioned.

Note that all other windows are closed when selecting one of these options and that current windows settings are replaced. Also, 1024x768 or greater video resolution is recommended for the options that simultaneously display four different windows.

Y2 Axis Content

Generate/8934.gif The Set Y2 Axis Content button is used to assign an optional Y2 axis. This can contain the residuals, the first and/or second derivative of the fitted curve, or the cumulative area of the fit equation.

Generate/8935.gif The Toggle Residuals on Y2 Axis button offers a fast way to toggle the Y2 Axis Residuals on and off.

Generate/8936.gif The Toggle First Derivative on Y2 Axis button offers a fast way to toggle the Y2 First Derivatives on and off.

For built-in curve-fit equations, both analytic and numeric derivatives are available. The type is specified in the Preferences option in the Curve-Fit graph's File menu. This is also available from the main Edit menu.

Zooming Out Curve-Fit Graph

The Zoom-Out scroll-bar is used to select one of 20 automatic zoom-out levels. The zoom-out is part of the graph's automatic scaling. The zoom-out will zoom linear axes in a linear fashion, and logarithmic axes by alternately adding a decade to the top or bottom of the range for each level of zoom-out.

Fit References

Generate/8927.gif The Equation References button is used for most options that affect the installation and removal of curve-fit references. TableCurve 2D supports up to four simultaneously displayed equation references. These can be from the current equation set or imported from prior fits.

Generate/8926.gif The Toggle Display of Equation References turns on and off the graphical display of the references.

Generate/8925.gif The Add Current Equation as Reference button offers the means to install the current fit as a reference with a single button click.

Generate/8851.gif This button selects the top-ranked equation in the Equation List.

Generate/8852.gif This button scans up one equation in the Equation List.

Generate/8853.gif This button scans down one equation in the Equation List..

Generate/8924.gif The Search for Specific Equation button is used to directly select the TableCurve 2D equation desired. You must enter the equation number sought. If the equation is not in the Equation List for any reason, you will be shown a message that explains why the equation is not available. This is the fastest way to find a TableCurve 2D equation when you know in advance the equation you seek.

Using Mouse to Scroll Equations

When the Curve-Fit graph is the active window, you can use the rotating wheel on a wheel mouse to control movement through the Equation List. Rotate the wheel forward (away from you) to advance up the equation list and back (toward you) to step down the equation list. You can also single click on the middle button of a three-button mouse (or depress the wheel of a wheel mouse) to advance or go back one equation, depending on the current direction through the list.

The Equation List window can be toggled on and off by double clicking the middle button or wheel.

Mark and Refit

Generate/8970.gif The Mark Excluded Points for Refit button is used to automatically mark points that will be toggled in state upon a refit. It is typically used to mark outliers for exclusion prior to refitting. Points can also be manually marked for subsequent exclusion/inclusion in fitting by left clicking on the data point in the Curve-Fit graph.

Generate/PROC1A.gif Generate/PROC2A.gif Generate/PROC3A.gif Generate/PROC4A.gif Generate/PROC5A.gif Generate/PROC6A.gif Generate/PROC7A.gif Generate/PROC8A.gif Generate/PROC9A.gif Generate/PROC12.gif Generate/PROC10.gif The Refit option will reflect the type of fit that was made prior to entering into the Review. When a refit is initiated, all marked active points are made inactive while marked inactive points are made active. You can go back and forth between including and excluding a set of marked points by successive refits.

Common Export Options

Generate/89411.gif The Copy Data to Clipboard button is used to copy the current curve-fit in a WK1 format to the clipboard for pasting into Excel, SigmaPlot, Lotus, Quattro, and other WK1 compatible applications. The WK1 can be saved to disk using the Save Lotus 123 option in the File menu of the Curve-Fit graph.

Generate/8956.gif The Export to SigmaPlot button is used to export the current curve-fit to one of four SigmaPlot graph file formats. This can also be done by selecting the Save SigmaPlot option in the File menu of the Curve-fit graph.

Generate/8973.gif The Code Generation button is used to generate C, FORTRAN, BASIC, or PASCAL language code for the current equation. This can also be done using the Code Generation option in the File menu of the Curve-fit graph.

Generate/8972.gif The MS Excel Export button is used to export the current curve-fit to Excel. This can also be done using the Save Excel option in the File menu of the Curve-fit graph.

Generate/8971.gif The MS Word/RTF File Export button is used to write a report containing one of more of the following elements to an MS Word or RTF file: current curve-fit graph, residuals graph, numeric summary, data summary, precision summary, evaluation, language code, equation list. This option can also be invoked by using the Save MS Word/RTF option in the File menu of the Curve-fit graph.

Generate/89461.gif The Production Facility button is used to invoke the automated processing of similar data sets using the currently selected curve-fit equation. All data sets in the automation are fitted to this one model.

TableCurve 2D Graph Options

The following curve-fit elements are accessed directly from the TableCurve 2D Graph's toolbar:

Generate/8071.gif Opens Confidence Intervals dialog.

Generate/8073.gif Toggles Confidence/Prediction Intervals.

Generate/80771.gif Opens Error Bars dialog (Replicate information present)

Generate/80781.gif Toggles Error Bars (Replicate information present)

Generate/8082.gif Display actual Residuals (Residuals in Y2 axis)

Generate/8083.gif Display Residuals as % of Y(Residuals in Y2 axis)

Generate/8084.gif Display Residuals as fraction of SE (Residuals in Y2 axis)

File Menu-File Export Options

Report information can be written:

You may export the curve-fit information:

The ASCII export options include saving:

TableCurve 2D can also generate:

File Menu-Preferences

The Preferences option is used to:

  • set the numeric precision in graph titles
  • specify right filling numeric values with zero
  • specify a compact notational format for non-linear equations
  • using bitmaps for rendering graphs
  • specifying Rich Text Format (RTF) text display windows
  • specifying analytic derivatives for all curve-fit equation derivative computations

Note that this option is identical to the Preferences option in the Edit menu.

File Menu-Printing

Generate/8001.gif To Print the graph you can use the Print menu item or the Print button in the graph's toolbar. You can set up the desired printer with the Printer Setup menu item, or the Setup button in the Print dialog. In the Review, it is possible to print a half-page numeric summary below the standard half-page curve-fit graph.

Reference Menu

The Equation References item is used for the addition and removal of equation references. An equation reference overlays the current curve-fit. References are usually used for graphical comparison with other curve-fits in the current equation set, or with fits saved from a prior analysis. Up to four references can be active at a given time.

Generate/8927.gif Note that there is also an Equation References button in the Curve-Fit graph's control panel.

The following operations can also be initiated directly using Reference menu:

Generate/8925.gif Note that there is also an Add Current Equation as Reference button in the Curve-Fit graph's control panel.

Generate/8926.gif Note that there is also a Toggle Display of Equation References button in the Curve-Fit graph's control panel.

Scan Menu

Generate/8851.gif Generate/8852.gif Generate/8853.gif The First Equation, Next Higher Rank, and Next Lower Rank items duplicate the VCR buttons in the control panel and are likewise used to select the highest ranked fit, the next higher ranked fit, and the next lower ranked fit in the Equation List. The Last Equation item selects the worst ranked equation in the set.

Generate/8924.gif The Search for Specific Equation item is used to directly select the TableCurve 2D equation desired. You must enter the TableCurve 2D equation number. If the equation is not in the Equation List for any reason, you will be shown a message that explains why the equation is not available. This is the fastest way to find a TableCurve 2D equation when you know in advance which equation it is you seek.

List Menu

This menu duplicates the content items in the Equation List window's menu.

Window Menu

The Curve-Fit Graph item will simply make the Curve-Fit graph the current window since this graph is always displayed in the course of the Review. The selection of Residuals Graph, Equation List, Numeric Summary, Data Summary, Precision Summary, or Evaluation will display the window if it is not already displayed, and then it will give this window the current focus.

The six Tile items are used to automatically open and place various windows. These options are also available in the Curve-Fit graph's control panel:

Generate/8931.gif The Tile Fit Graph/Equation List item automatically opens and positions the Curve-Fit Graph and Equation List.

Generate/8932.gif The Tile Fit Graph/Equation List/Numeric item automatically opens and positions the Curve-Fit Graph, Equation List, and Numeric Summary.

Generate/8937.gif The Tile Fit Graph/Equation List/Data item automatically opens and positions the Curve-Fit Graph, Equation List, and Data Summary.

Generate/8933.gif The Tile Fit Graph/Equation List/Numeric/Residuals item automatically opens and positions the Curve-Fit Graph, Equation List, Numeric Summary, and Residuals.

Generate/8928.gif The Tile Fit Graph/Equation List/Numeric/Evaluation item automatically opens and positions the Curve-Fit Graph, Equation List, Numeric Summary, and Evaluation.

Generate/8929.gif The Tile Fit Graph/Equation List/Residuals/Evaluation item automatically opens and positions the Curve-Fit Graph, Equation List, Residuals, and Evaluation.

The Save State of Review Windows option saves a file that contains the information for the current state of the Review windows. This includes which windows are currently shown and their size and positions. These are binary files with a default WIN extension.

The Import State of Review Windows option reads a WIN file and opens the appropriate windows in their previously saved sizes and positions.