Skip to content

Quick Start

Automated Fitting

TableCurve 2D has been designed to automatically fit large numbers of candidate curve-fit equations in a fully automated fashion. In general, there are four basic steps:

1. Import or Edit an XY Data Table

Generate/HELP10.gif The Import option in the File menu is used to read a new data table from a disk-based file. Supported formats include ASCII, Excel, Lotus, Quattro, SigmaPlot, DIF, SPSS, Systat, and dBase.

Generate/HELP13.gif The TableCurve Editor option in the Edit menu is used to enter a data table within TableCurve 2D.

2. Process the Data for the Best Equations

The following Process menu fitting options utilize pre-defined equation sets:

Generate/HELP16.gif Curve-Fit All Equations

Generate/HELP17.gif Curve-Fit Linear Equations

Generate/HELP18.gif Curve-Fit Simple Equations

Generate/HELP19.gif Curve-Fit Robust Straight Line

Generate/HELP20.gif Curve-Fit Poly/Ratl Equations

Generate/HELP21.gif Curve-Fit Peak Functions

Generate/HELP22.gif Curve-Fit Transition Functions

Generate/HELP23.gif Curve-Fit Kinetic Equations

Generate/HELP24.gif Curve-Fit Waveform Equations

3. Select the Optimum Equation for the Application

TableCurve 2D offers a large number of graphical and numerical tools to enable you to choose the best equation for your particular needs.

Generate/HELP27.gif For selecting the most appropriate equation, the Review menu’s Graph Start option emphasizes the Curve-Fit Graph.

Generate/HELP28.gif The Review menu’s List Start option emphasizes the Equation List.

4. Generate the Printed, File, or Code Output

Generate/8972.gif Generate/8956.gif The Excel, SigmaPlot, Lotus 123, and ASCII items in the Review are the most commonly used file export options.

Generate/8001.gif The Print button in the Curve-Fit or Residuals Graph toolbar is used to generate printed graphs.

Generate/8973.gif The Code Generation option is used to generate the fitted equation in C, Fortran, Pascal, or Basic.

Generate/8949.gif The Numeric Summary offers a full statistical report.

Generate/89571.gif The Residuals option offers five different formats for viewing and exporting the residuals from a fit.