Data Preparation Q&A¶
How do I disable points so that they are excluded from the fitting?¶
The Section Data option in the Data menu isolates portions of a data stream for analysis. You can isolate sections graphically by XY and X sectioning modes or you can also numerically specify ranges to include or exclude. Toggling a point on and off is as simple as clicking on that point with the mouse.
How do I transform one or more of the data columns?¶
Use the Data menu’s Enter Calculation option. The X column is treated as a vector with the name X, the Y column with the name Y, and the weight column with the name W. To convert X values in cm to micrometers, for example, enter X*1E4 in the X= field.
All of TableCurve 2D’s built-in functions are available in a simple function insert help where the desired functions are automatically inserted into the expression.
How do I clear the current data table?¶
Use any of the Import options in the File menu, or the Clear All Data option in the the Data menu.
Can I discard inactive points?¶
Use the Clear Inactive Points option in the Data menu to delete all inactive points from the current data table.
How do I change the basic data table titles?¶
Use the Modify Titles option in the Data menu.
How do I difference the data, create cumulatives, or otherwise normalize the data?¶
Use the Difference, Cumulative, Normalize option in the Data menu to difference the data with adjustable order and lag, compute various cumulatives, or normalize for unit area, unit power, unit standard deviation, or zero mean.
Can I subtract a baseline?¶
The Subtract Imported Reference option will allow any reference set, with identical X-values, to be subtracted from the current data. This is generally used to subtract a baseline or background, or for fitting the difference between two different data sets.