Data Table I/O Q&A¶
How do I import data from external files?¶
Use the Import option in the File menu. You may optionally specify a weights column or a column containing the standard deviation of replicate measurements. Use the Import Preview to view the data graphically before importing it.
How do I paste in the data table from the clipboard?¶
Use the File menu’s Import Clipboard option. The clipboard block can contain any number of columns. Select the desired data table columns. You can paste in data from ASCII, Excel, Lotus, Quattro, and SigmaPlot formats.
How do I append data to the existing data table?¶
Use the File menu’s Append option. Also available are Append Digital Filter and Append Clipboard options.
What is the best way to manage replicates?¶
Import a single data set in which all of the replicates have been combined, or Append the individual data sets.
Save this data set as the source.
Use the Process Replicates option in the Data menu. This approach automatically implements weights based upon the individual standard deviations and enables full confidence intervals on the resulting error bars. Fits to the unprocessed source file can also be made for determining the pure error and lack of fit.
How do I import data from fixed length data block binary files?¶
Use the Import Binary option in the File menu. Then specify the offsets into the file header or repeating fixed length data block in order to read titles and data. Fixed length data block binary files are written by a great many computerized laboratory instruments.
How do I implement an averaging digital filter upon import?¶
Use the File menu’s Import Digital Filter option. Start at any location in the data stream and average up to 999 points per table entry. The Import Digital Filter option is primarily intended for importing data tables larger than the program’s 65536 data point maximum. When the data source is less than this maximum, the preferred approach for reducing the size of the data table is to use one of the Estimation options. These offer both data reduction and data enhancement (increasing the data table size). They also can create an arbitrary size output stream.
How do I drag and drop files into TableCurve 2D for import?¶
Drag the file onto the main TableCurve 2D window or onto the status window. The import procedure is then automatically initiated for this file. If you drop multiple files, the last selected file is read and the remainder are added to the previous files list at the bottom of the File menu.
How do I save the data table to a spreadsheet format?¶
In addition to the default ASCII format, the Save As option in the File menu offers Excel 2000/97, Excel 95, WK3, and WK1 data formats.
The most space efficient format is the SPSS SAV format. This format uses an internal compression, preserves full binary precision, and also saves weights and the status of individual points.
How do I copy the data table to the clipboard?¶
Use the Edit menu’s Copy option. The clipboard will contain both ASCII and spreadsheet data formats.